Heart Wide Open

Well just like always the yoga festival was amazing.  I was able to learn a lot and make some transformation.  The festival doesn’t have a theme per se but every year it seems like I receive the message I am supposed to.  The thing that kept coming up in classes for me was that I am good enough and have enough and I can just relax and enjoy this amazing life I have been given.  I don’t need to commit to some crazy spiritual program or do 108 sun salutations everyday or anything hard.  I just need to keep showing up to my life as I am.  We are all already there.

I learned new ways to practice the physical postures (asanas) and new ways to incorporate breath and meditation.  But the biggest take home message for me is that yoga is not just about the physical body and a true practice can be something that makes your heart sing.

One of the biggest moments for me was when a teacher said this

“God breaks the heart again and again and again until it stays open.” – Hazrat Inayat Khan

This left me sitting with steaming tears.  It directly transformed the hurt I have been carrying about my loss and my infertility.  It reminded me to keep my heart open.

I also enjoyed learning the myths of the yogic gods.  In particular the stories of Ganehsa, Kali, and Durga were powerful for me.  In yoga these “gods” are not beings outside of ourselves that we call upon to save us but are aspects that we all carry inside of us that we can summon in our own selves to handle the life we are living.

It is hard to put into words the weekend I just had but I feel open and light and free.

In other news I finished my five days of licorice root on Sunday and am currently on day 11 of my cycle.  My BBT is looking good and Cloudy and I are having fun and trying to make this week a time to connect and love each other and not just one of mandatory sex.  All of this great stuff leading up to next week will maybe help with the 2 week wait crazies.

Love you girls, I can’t wait to get on your blogs and find out where everyone is and how things are going in your journeys.

5 thoughts on “Heart Wide Open

  1. Welcome back! I am glad you had such a great time! I am totally jealous and wish I could go away and do something like that. I am not that great at yoga though. Maybe in a few years! We can be 2ww buddies next week hopefully if I ovulate sometime soon. Don’t you feel like we are living our lives in 2 week chunks? Hoping this cycle works out for you! 🙂

    • I really do feel like I only live for 2 weeks at a time. It’s a little bit crazy. I hope I ovulate soon too, I never know for sure, I’m going with – it will happen in the next couple of days though. You do not need to be great at yoga to do yoga at the festival, you just need the desire to go. The yoga will do the work no matter what “level” you are at. You should meet me there next year, the husbands can take care of the babies!!

  2. What an amazingly beautiful quote… I remember that one 🙂 Thank you for sharing it 🙂 Wonderful that you had such a great time… sounds amazing :)) Love to you always xoxo

I always love hearing from you.

