Road Trip to the Vet

I may only be posting sporadically this week. We spent 8 hours in the car yesterday driving our dog to the emergency room due to what we think is some sort of spinal injury. I have had my sweet dog since he was a puppy and he is now almost 9 years old. On Thursday last week we picked him up from doggie daycare only to find that he couldn’t walk.
I have to rant for a second here. I understand that it is likely his spine was instable and that this injury was going to occur whether he was with us or at day care. So, I do not blame them for it happening. However, if he had been with me when this happened I would have taken him to the vet immediately. I did not receive so much as a phone call from the daycare facility. When I went to pick him up I could tell immediately that he wasn’t able to walk. When I asked them about it they said he had seemed fine all day but had been lying in the sun all afternoon. He is a big furry man that looks like he could survive a harsh winter in the artic without so much as a thought. He does NOT look like a dog that likes to lie in the sun for hours on end! I am so angry that they didn’t notice anything was wrong, they didn’t call me, and he was in pain and unnoticed for hours.
Anyway, our local vet suspected a herniated disc but wasn’t able to confirm without MRI and there are only 3 vets in our state with an MRI machine, none of which are very close to us. So they put him on an IV heavy dose of cortisone and kept an eye on him. When he didn’t show any improvement by Sunday morning we were referred to a vet with an MRI machine to figure out what is going on. We dropped him off last night and haven’t heard anything yet. I’m losing my mind over it. Fortunately we have one of the top veterinary colleges in the country right here in our state and he is with them and their eager to learn students and top of the line equipment. We have taken pets there in the past and I know he is in good hands.
One thing it brings up for me is adoption. I have of course thought a lot about adoption since delivering a healthy baby of my own seems illusive. I have wondered if I could ever feel like an adopted baby was really mine. My pets have taught me that yes I can. My adopted fur babies look nothing like me and I feel as if I have given birth to them. Flesh of my flesh, bone of my bone. They aren’t of course. But they are my children and I love them and would do anything for them.
The other fortunate things about having to come here in the middle of the night is that my company’s headquarters is here so I can sit at a unused desk and try to get a little work done to distract me and not have to use vacation time for this adventure. And my cousin’s wedding is on Friday and we were planning on coming up on Wednesday anyway. A very dull silver lining on the dark cloud that is my poor injured pup.

8 thoughts on “Road Trip to the Vet

  1. It’s the worst to have one of your babies in pain. I am sending you all the good vibes I got today. Great point about adoption and adopting fur babie, never looked at it like that. Fingers crossed for you.

  2. Your poor pup pup! I hope that he is ok. It is so hard when animals are in pain because they can’t tell you. I seriously call the vet anytime one of my furbabies isn’t acting right. You did the right thing. I am glad that you took him to a great hospital. I am praying that he is ok.

  3. Poor guy! It’s so sad that he was lying in the sun all afternoon and nobody noticed anything was wrong. Sounds like he’s in the best of hands now, though – here’s hoping they can quickly determine what the problem is and then fix it so he’s as good as new.

  4. Poor dog! I agree that the day care providers should have noticed that he wasn’t acting like himself. You’d think they would be familiar with the personalities of all the animals in their care. At least you know he is in very capable hands now. I hope they can find a solution to the problem soon. Hugs!!

  5. I’m so sorry that I’m behind on all your news… but wanted to send you a quick message before catching up on all your posts, to say that you’re the winner for my little blogHop prize for a US$30 voucher with Small Bird Studios blog designs :)) I’ll email you too… love to you always xoxo

  6. Hi,

    My name is Knoll Maria and I am a graduate student at Bar-Ilan University Information Science Department in Israel. For my final project, I am examining anonymity and self-disclosure in infertility blogs. The target population of the study are women bloggers who were or are going through infertility treatments and also blog about their experience. I am kindly inviting you to participate in this research study by completing the attached survey.

    The following questionnaire will require approximately 5 minutes to complete. Your response is very important to me. Your informed consent to participate in this survey is assumed by completing the survey and by submitting it. Participation is strictly voluntary and you may refuse to participate at any time. A copy of the results will be sent to you, if you choose so.

    Thank you for taking the time to assist me in my educational endeavors. If you require additional information or have questions, please contact by email.
    Click here to fill out the survey: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/viewform?formkey=dHY0SC1wT0lHeEFqOGdZN3pXT3p3aHc6MQ

I always love hearing from you.

