My Post No-baby Body

Before I was pregnant I was able to eat anything and be sporadic about working out and I pretty much stayed the same weight plus or minus 5 lbs depending on my life.  I trend to be plus 5 lbs when I am happy and minus 5 lbs when I am stressed out.  Being pregnant changes all of that!  I gained 15lbs in my 21 week pregnancy, and as we all know, the first two weeks you aren’t really pregnant and then the next few weeks after that you can’t even see the baby let alone blame your weight on it.  I’m not sure why because my eating habits didn’t change that much.  Cloudy brought me a sliced apple in bed every morning because for some reason it was the only  way I could face the day without dry heaving.  I thought an apple a day was supposed to keep the doctor away, I no longer believe that old adage.  Anyway, an extra apple every morning should not make me gain that much weight.  I had to make sure I ate at regular intervals or I would get dizzy so I did snack every few hours but I couldn’t keep large meals down so I don’t think I consumed a larger quantity from day to day.  I continued to do yoga and I swam a couple times a week but I gave up on the high intensity stuff like biking and lifting weights.  Whatever it was, at the time, I didn’t care.  I was pregnant and all too happy to get fat and round.

After I lost our baby I sat around for the mandatory 3 weeks but as soon as that was over I started trying to loose the weight.  I started every morning with 27 sun salutations and I hit the High Intensity Interval and strength training classes at the gym 4 days a week.  I even tried to diet for the first time in my life.  My friend was also on a new diet and she was losing lots of weight and looking great so I decided to try it.  She was following the Mario Lopez Book, Extra Lean.  That’s right, I was taking diet advice from Slater.  But she looked great and from the picture on the book it is working for him too so I decided to give it a go.  I did really well the first time through the book which is seven weeks.  I am a vegetarian so I had to modify pretty much every recipe but I used the MyFitnessPal app to track my calorie intake and make sure that my meals were matching up with the numbers for the meals in the book.  I really like MyFitnessPal as a means to track what you are eating.  It is super easy to use and you can track everything down to micro-nutrients.  It was really nice as a vegetarian to be sure that I was getting enough protein and iron in my diet.  It’s kind of a pain in the butt to track everything that goes in your mouth but MFP does have a large data base of foods and you can even scan bar-codes of packaged food.

I got off track a little but the point was that I was dedicated.  For 7 weeks straight I was at the gym 4-5 days a week, and I tracked all my eating and stuck to Mario’s plan.  In that 7 weeks I lost 3 lbs!   3lbs!!  That is all I lost for the hard work.  I was more than a little discouraged.  But I stuck with it mostly, I did get to where I didn’t want to stick to the foods in the book so I stuck with his rules and portion sizes.  3 meals a day and 3-4 snacks.  I aimed at keeping my calories around 1200 after accounting for workouts.   I was not super excited about it.  Eventually most of this hard work fell by the wayside because it was more work than was worth the results.  I stopped tracking my food, I still went to the gym but not as regularly, and I started to eat what I wanted to.  I continued to still loose at my snail pace of about a lb every three weeks or so.

When I got pregnant I had my 5 extra happy pounds on so I was (still am) aiming to loose a total of 20lbs.  When I started this blog I had 10 of it off and when I weighed  myself yesterday I had 4 back on!  I would really like to get back to my pre-pregnancy weight by July when we start trying again.  But that is 9 lbs in 2 months and I don’t think I can do it.  I’m not sure where to go from here.  I am starting to think that the pregnancy screwed up my metabolism.  I’m not really sure how to get it back.  I also have some concern about getting it back just to get pregnant and get big all over again.

Ultimately if this is my new body I am ok with it.  Of course I want to live the american dream and be able to eat french fries and weigh 130lbs.  But hey, I’ll take a baby over french fries and a six pack any day.

Anyone have any secrets?

10 thoughts on “My Post No-baby Body

  1. I had the same problem after I lost the triplets. It took me a solid 5 months of tons of exercise and very careful food choices to get back to where I was before I got pregnant (I gained 30 pounds while pregnant). I’m still trying to get rid of another 10-15 lbs though that I gained while doing fertility treatment before the triplets. It does not see to want to budge. My last ditch effort right now is to do “the new Atkins”. If that doesn’t work I am resigned to the fact that those extra 10-15 lbs are stuck with me as long as I am taking fertility drugs. This subject probably warrants a post on my blog as well.

    • hmm I’ll have to look at the new Atkins. The version I am familiar with is pretty hard for us non meat eaters. It always seems to be the last few pounds are the hardest.

  2. I have put on TCC weight. I have found that since I started TCC I have been comfort eating and I have little to no motivation for exercise. I am really hoping Meg the pup is going to get me out in the fresh air on long walks and feeling happier so I don’t reach for the chocolate. I don’t weigh myself but I am sure since my Wedding I have put on several pounds. I could do with loosing about a stone and a half really.

  3. I’ve also put on weight after losing our daughter and with all these damn IVF drugs… but lost it with weight watchers last year – it doesn’t suit everyone, but it works for me. Be gentle on yourself too xoxo

  4. I was going to say MFP, but if you’ve already tried that, I don’t know. Consistency I guess…. set your MFP goals to lose 1# / week, and just stick to that cal count for at least a month and see if things are changing. Good luck!

  5. Diet advice from Slater – love it! But if that’s not working, though … maybe you could focus on how you feel instead of on numbers like weight and calories? I try to pay little attention to either, and instead fill up on healthy-ish foods and move enough not to worry about the rest of it. If my clothes fit, I’m okay. If they start to get tight, I know I’m out of balance. But I prefer focusing on the wellness of how I feel rather than counting, measuring – that can drive one crazy. No matter what you do, good luck reaching a point where you feel healthy and well with yourself!

    • That is a really good point. I actually feel great right now. And I’m not even that concerned with how I look (standing up haha, I do look down at my pooch in disgust when I’m sitting). I think I would be better off just living and trying to take care of myself. For some reason I am stuck on staying a certain number for the rest of my life, like my youth depends on it. Thank you so much for your words.

I always love hearing from you.

