The Diva

**Update at the bottom**

Over the weekend I had yet another period!  I never knew I would reach a point in my life when I was excited about this.  But I am.  I actually wasn’t expecting it until today so my luteal phase was only 12 days.  I think 12-14 is normal though so I’m not too upset about it.  But I am a little concerned that my cycles do seem to be pretty variable in over all length.  Since my pregnancy ended my cycles have been 36 days, 27 days, 36 days again, 29 days, and this last one which was a short 26 days.  I know this is kind of typical for women with PCOS, I should feel lucky that they aren’t 142 days or longer anymore, and I do, I just wonder if the variability is a sign that things still aren’t quite right despite the acupuncture, herbs, and handfuls of other things.  I’m going for perfect this time around since anything less doesn’t seem to cut it.

But what I really want to talk about is the Diva Cup, this might contain a  little TMI for some of you so, continue at your own risk please.  It is a reusable silicon cup worn during your period to, well, catch everything.  I heard of it through other blog ladies and when I saw it on the shelf at Vitamin Cottage last week  I thought I would give it a whirl.  On Saturday I had my chance.  This is one time in my life when it was actually nice to start on the weekend so that I could try this thing out without any embarrassing incidents at work.  We had plans fairly early in the morning so when I I woke up and noticed the event, I decided to put in the diva cup and give it a go.  We would only be in town a couple hours and my flow has been pretty light the last few cycles so I felt comfortable with it.  It took me a while to put it in.  I initially had to get over the “oh my god I’ll never get it in there, and if I do how the hell will I get it out”  fear.  But I just followed the directions, folded it up and stuck it in.  It does go pretty much all the way in there so I thought I would just see how it goes and worry about the getting it out later.  When I stood up and washed my hands all was well.  I actually couldn’t feel the diva cup at all.  It was like nothing ever happened in there.  I went about my morning plans and when I returned home a few hours later I retreated to the bathroom, took a deep breath and went for the extraction.  The first thing I noticed was that it worked!  No leaks!  In order to get it out I did have to stick my fingers in there and squeeze the bottom to release the suction.  This might be the only downfall for some who aren’t comfortable with this.  I didn’t mind too much.  I was prepared to make a huge mess but I didn’t .  It came out fairly smoothly and there wasn’t any mess.  The cup actually has measurements on it so you can see how much you collected, again this might be just too much for some but the scientist in me loved it.  It is an actual way to see very clearly how heavy or light your flow is every day and every cycle.  You can also tell color (it is a little darker because the contents of the diva cup isn’t exposed to air)  if there are clots, you can tell everything that is going on.  Fot the TTC girl or the girl with any type of menstrual problems this information is invaluable.  I am hooked.  It is better for your body than tampons and cleaner than pads.  Plus you can’t feel it at all and there isn’t a smell ( tmi again?).  It says you can leave it in for 12 hours at a time, I cleaned it out a little more often than that but didn’t need to, but again my flows are pretty light.  It was completely fine over night as well.  Saturday night I took it out dancing for cinco de mayo with no problems and tonight I am taking it on a mountain bike ride, so I will let you know how that goes too but I am confident it will be fine.

 

**Update:  It was too rainy to get on the bike last night but the Diva did just fine driving home  in the rain!

3 thoughts on “The Diva

  1. I use a mooncup which is similar. It rocks. On very heavy days I have to wear a pad too but usually only one day a month, and the rest I just wear liners. I also use it during ovulation time to keep the boys in for a little longer.

I always love hearing from you.

